Eat. Pray. And Find Love?

Cover of "Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Se...

Cover via Amazon

I met a girl named Liz. She divorced her husband and broke-up with her theater actor boyfriend. She wanted to search for herself. She wanted to explore, to eat, to pray and to find love. Leaving is her way out to realize how important it is to search for one’s self.
Sometimes we don’t actually find contentment in life and the best we can do is to look for our inner soul. Like Liz, I also wanted to leave because I am honestly tired of doing things repeatedly— waking up early in the morning, go to school, and to teach. I love teaching. I honestly love doing it. It is just that, I wanted to spur a moment of my time doing things other than teaching, like, eating perhaps, meditating, and hopefully looking for my other half.

Liz left her boyfriend because her boyfriend is sick of her attitude to change things about him. Truly, she loves the guy, but she can’t resist that they keep on yelling each other because of only just a simple problem. So, it’s her time to make her dream come true—to go to Italy… to learn Italian language… to eat a lot of pastas, pizzas, and any Italian cuisine. There, she made many friends who always with her all the time. They just spent their time eating, going everywhere in Rome, shopping…

Italian foods are great— the pastas, the different sauce which are of green and orange colors, and the varieties of pizza. I also wanted to go somewhere else and to taste the famous delicacies I found on that place. For me, it is a new beginning of a new journey that I have to dwell with. Tasting food is awesome, but tasting the experience how I went on that particular place and how I met different people, and befriend them is more exciting. If there is a place I would love visit, that is the historic Forbidden City in Beijing, China, the famous Angkor Wat, the Taj Mahal, the romantic place of Paris, the St. Peter Basillica, and the remains of the early civilization in the world. It might sound expensive but I do wish that before I die, I could visit these places. Though I knew that could be a very long journey, I will take the risk, for if that journey is where I could find the happiness that I am looking for.

Liz also wanted to look for silence. She wanted to live peacefully without any hesitations, doubts, pains, and resentment. So, she went to India to meditate. Meditation helps her to find her inner soul and to be satisfied of what she has. There, she met people who devotedly pray. Focus… to have focus is what Liz learned from that meditation. When she’s done with her daily meditation, she knew already how to control of her emotions, and she is now a changed woman.

A moment of silence is what I want. I concentrated well if there is no noise around me. There are moments that I lost my appetite of finishing things if there is a noise around me. I would rather sleep for a moment or sometimes I even spurred out my temper because I can’t concentrate on things that I have to finish. Demand of time plus the noise is really excruciating. When I have to meet a deadline for my research papers in graduate school and even to settle the grades of my students, I turned out to yell at someone just to release my temper. When I met Liz, she really made me realize that I have to spend time to meditate and to find my inner soul, because from there is where I could find way on how I am going to control of my temper. I tried once, and it was really difficult. Really difficult. Yet, I am still trying. It’s really a matter of concentration… a discipline that I really have to develop first before I get into a successful meditation. Now, I would say that I am learning. Learning to concentrate. Learning to control of my temper. And to find my inner soul. Thanks to Liz for the inspiration.

Lastly, Liz went to Bali, Indonesia to meet his friend Ketut an old man who foretells her future. She really like Ketut because he is really funny, willing to learn more English, and inspiring her on how to find her better half. She met a guy accidentally. Literally it is an accident. A guy is riding his cab when he hits Liz who is riding her bicycle. Liz stumbled beside the road and had a minor injury on her legs. It is not a serious injury. Little they know that is the start of a brand new beginning for them. For once, they have similarities, they are both loner in Bali, both divorce, and both finding love. Well, of course, like a fairy tale happy ending, the two find love in each others’ arms.

What will I say about this? Well, I am also a human being looking for someone to love. But it seems love is not truly for me. I would rather love my family first and of course myself. Of more than twenty years of existence I never find someone who could love me like I do. Maybe… because I am not searching for the right person. They said that Bali is love. Do I still have to go there just to find that someone just like Liz? I think I really need to explore so that I could find the right person for me. Honestly, whenever I talked about love, it is the topic which made me inkless. I can’t write anything about it, surely because I never been into a relationship. Perhaps, if I will be into one, at least, I will be writing more about these topics… on how it feels like when you first met that someone, on how cloud nine it is when your together, on how painful it is when you broke up… well at least.
I may not be Liz, but like her, I am also bored of my life, and need to explore new things to look for the real meaning of life. Eat… pray… and love… all these things were actually at one hand may be experience by many, but taking things into a more worthwhile experience, like what Liz did is something new… something interesting… something I aspired to do even just for once.

2 thoughts on “Eat. Pray. And Find Love?

  1. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of area .
    Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website.

    Reading this information So i’m satisfied to show that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed.
    I so much surely will make sure to do not overlook this web site and
    provides it a glance on a relentless basis.

Leave a Reply

